One-of-a-Kind Shopping at Well Heeled

Posted on April 11, 2011

1


By Arianna Bolotin

Only in Vermont would an old farmhouse be turned into a clothing and fashion boutique. That’s what is found at Well Heeled in Stowe–designer shoes, clothing, and accessories; and lots of them. Located three miles away from the hustle and bustle of Main Street, Well Heeled blends in with the many other farmhouses located throughout Vermont. However, walking through the door at Well Heeled is like opening the lid to an old treasure chest and finding precious valuables inside.

Well Heeled 2850 Stowe Mountain RdAs amazing as it is to see the many designer pieces and collections located in this cozy, little house, the passion that Lisa Hagerty, the boutique’s owner, has for Well Heeled is even more remarkable. “I used to pass this building all the time when I would come up to Stowe for weekends,” Hagerty explains. “I loved this building long before it ever came on the market. I love old farmhouses and I was compelled to buy the property, but I needed a reason to buy it.” As a solution to this predicament, Hagerty created the business Well Heeled.

“I’m not a retailer,” Hagerty clearly states. “I have a business degree and I was an investment banker. But I was a prolific shopper. I had lived in Boston and New York most of my life and I felt a little shopping starved here. I was inspired to start this store as being the perfect thing to do with the mountain right here. People are shocked when they walk through the door and find this sophisticated collection in Vermont.”

Hagerty’s love of fashion plays a huge role in establishing the unique inventory that Well Heeled carries. She selects merchandise that she likes, rather than what is ‘in’ or what her vendors tell her to buy. Laughing, Hagerty says, “There are some things in style that you just should’t wear.” When Hagerty attends fashion shows, she doesn’t have a plan and she doesn’t have a budget. Simply, she buys what she likes. “I have really tried to stick to the belief that I personally have to be passionate about every piece in [the store],” Hagerty explains. “Sometimes, I purposely walk right by my vendors because I want to shake it up in here. I created a store that I would want to shop in and I deal with people the way that I would want to be treated. It’s authentic.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hagerty consciously made the decision to locate Well Heeled outside of downtown Stowe. “I love Main Street, but I really wanted a destination store,” she shares. “It was almost like if it was more remote, it would be more special. There’s a special relationship between women and shoes and I knew that no matter where I put it, women would sniff it out.”

The customer base of Well Heeled is a good mixture of Stowe locals and weekend tourists. Locals and second home owners make up 50 to 60 percent of business, and tourists make up the other 40 percent. As Hagerty illustrates, the store could not exist without the tourists. “This is an interesting town,” she says. “It fluctuates from about 4,000 full time residents to having 12,000 on a busy weekend. Like almost everything in Stowe, locals are not a large enough customer base for me to be able to provide such a broad selection without the influx of tourists. The tourists benefit by having a nice place to shop, and locals benefit by having a nicer store than they would otherwise have.”

Well Heeled inside1The Well Heeled tagline reads, ‘absolutely exquisite shoes, clothing, and accessories for every affair.’ To add to the description of the store, Hagerty shares that it’s sort of like a boutique department store. “We can dress you from head to toe. From underwear to outerwear, shoes, handbags, jewelry, and clothing–yet in a very tight but eclectic collection.”
Well Heeled jewelry
“A girl came in yesterday who had decided to stay in Stowe an extra night and needed something to wear to work. She left with a full outfit including shoes, a scarf, jewelry, and she loved every piece.”

Well Heeled is much more than a fashion boutique. The passion that Hagerty has for both the collection she carries and for the location of the business make it a special shopping experience. The business’s location has a “super great karma that everyone notices, even the people who work here,” highlights Hagerty. “I love every bit of [Well Heeled]. I love that this little dream of mine came true. It’s not just a job. It’s a lifestyle.”

 

Posted in: Arianna Bolotin